Tickets.

CASTERBRIDGE

CASTERBRIDGE, music by Christopher Beste and book and lyrics by David Willinger, the world premiere of a new musical based on the famous Victorian novel by Thomas Hardy, The Mayor of Casterbridge, will be directed by Willinger at Theater for the New City (155 First Avenue between 9th and 10th Street) June 4-19th . The creators have been working on it for some 20 years.

Theater for the New City is a 4–theatre complex; this show will perform in the Cino Theatre, a 75–seat proscenium space.

    Performances:
  1. Thur, June 4, 8pm
  2. Fri, June 5, 8pm
  3. Sat, June 6, 2 & 8
  4. Sun, June 7, 2pm
  5. Thur, June 11, 8pm
  6. Fri, June 12, 8pm
  7. Sat, June 13, 2 & 8
  8. Sun, June 14, 2pm
  9. Thur, June 18, 8pm
  10. Fri, June 19, 8pm
ADMISSION: $15, Seniors and Students: $10

Based on The Mayor of Casterbridge, 19th Century English classic novel by Thomas Hardy. Set in Wessex – the West Country – with the town of Casterbridge representing the actual Dorset. It is a parable of spiritual ups and downs about a man who – when under the influence of alcohol – sells his wife at an auction. While essentially a towering romantic tragedy of human flaws and will, it has both comic highlights and melodramatic moods to enliven it. Its main characters are riveting figures, full of depth and pathos, while the secondary characters are fun in their sharply defined peculiarities.

It will be visually exciting, based around the central image of a bridge – a literal bridge, which is also a metaphor for crossing between various states in a life's journey. The quaintness of England's West Country where Hardy set the drama will be amply suggested. This is also mirrored in the music, which is heavily drawn from traditional English sounds. It hovers on the boundary between being a Broadway musical and operetta, with many lively, tuneful numbers, but also sung dialogue which connects them.